spaghetti and meatballs night, take two!

spaghetti and meatballs

Remember that delicious pic of spaghetti and meatballs I posted on last week’s Friday faves? It was a pantry raid kind of night, so I decided to make spaghetti and meatballs.

This is an update to my original spaghetti and meatballs post. However, this time around I took a few different approaches. Given the fact that it was pantry raid night, I took the semi-homemade route and used store-bought spaghetti sauce but still made my own meatballs. Also, I cooked the meatballs differently this second time around. Rather than baking the meatballs on a baking sheet like my first try, I baked them with tomato sauce according to How Sweet It Is recommended.

Want to hear a funny reason why I decided to try cooking them with tomato sauce? Well, the first time I did this I used a cookie sheet, but since I STILL don’t have a cookie sheet (ahem hint, hint…) thanks to the cookie sheet snatching duo I had to use my glass baking dish. I’m smart and efficient like that, hehe :)

In my opinion, I did not really notice a difference in taste or texture in the meatballs. On both attempts, the meatballs were moist which I believe comes from the cheese. Don’t get me wrong, cooking meatballs in tomato sauce does have a plus side to it! I love using the leftover tomato sauce from the meatballs and topping it on the spaghetti because it has that nice extra meaty flavor.

Anyways, check out these super delicious meatballs!

i like extra balls :)

Yummy, right? Now imagine it with the spaghetti and some basil!

ginormous plate for him, extra balls for her :)

KITCHEN TIP: I like to warm my sauce in a pot, then add in the spaghetti and sprinkle in some extra cheese to thicken up the sauce. Chiffonade some basil to top it off! Bon Appétit! :)

 Baked Meatballs (via How Sweet It Is)

  • 1 1/4 pounds lean ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup romano cheese
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoons of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoons of pepper
  • 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 3 cups of your favorite pasta sauce

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. In a large a bowl, add ground beef, egg, oil, cheese, breadcrumbs, garlic, salt, pepper, basil, and parsley. Mix to combine, gently tossing with your hands.
  3. Spray a large baking dish with non-stick spray and add 2 cups of pasta sauce.
  4. Roll beef in mini meatballs and set in sauce. Once all meatballs have been added, sprinkle additional cheese and breadcrumbs over top.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until meatballs are cooked through. Serve with additional sauce if desired.

© 2011 – shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com

10 thoughts on “spaghetti and meatballs night, take two!

  1. I like it when people try out alternative recipes of the same meal. Definitely saves time when you’ve got shop-bought tomato sauce! I love meatballs as long as they’re seasoned properly, moist and don’t fall apart too easily! Sounds and looks like it was a great meal.

Leave a Reply

