Chocolate Chip Blondies

chocolate chip blondies

UPDATE: These are still so soft and good the day after :)

My first attempt at blondies!

What are blondies? I’m not quite sure… Word on the interwebs is that they are blonde brownies sans chocolate. I don’t think these in particular taste like a brownie, but more like a cookie!! These chocolate chip blondies are very chewy, moist, and soft! What I love about these is that they are very easy to prepare (only one bowl!) and takes 20 minutes, which means straight from bowl to oven to my belly! :)

The only thing I would do differently next time is to double the recipe because they weren’t as thick as I expected (and I did use a small pan). Note: in the above and below pic, I stacked two blondies together to get the desired thickness I wanted for photo purposes but they are half the thickness in person…

Hello one gigantic cookie!! I think these taste the best at room temp.

Do you guys know what exactly blondies are?

xoxo, kat

Chocolate Chip Blondies (via Simply Recipes)

  • 1/2 cup of butter, melted
  • 1 cup of tightly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup of chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Lightly butter and flour an 8X8 pan.
  2. Whisk together the melted butter and sugar in a bowl.
  3. Add the egg and vanilla extract and whisk.
  4. Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt, mix it all together.
  5. Add the chocolate chips.
  6. Pour into the pan and spread evenly. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool. Cut into squares and serve.

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Blondies

    1. aww you’re too sweet! this was my first time making blondies and I just love how easy they were to make AND soooo moist and soft still! I’m eating a day 3 old blondie and it’s even better than when it came out of the oven :)

  1. i think of them exactly as you said — brownies made without chocolate, so you still get the moist chewiness. my mom makes them all the time with pecans or walnuts pressed into the top. sooo good! thanks for bringing these back to my mind — i should make some!

  2. Ahh the middle looks so yummy, I love then they are a little gooey inside still. My mom isn’t a big chocolate fan,. so maybe next time when she’s in town I’ll make these with white chocolate and macademia nuts!

Leave a comment