Labor Day Weekend

Hello everyone! It feels like it has been ages since I last posted anything here on she cooks, he eats. Don’t worry, he is still eating :)

Labor Day marks the unofficial end of summer….

I’m feeling a little sad and apprehensive about saying goodbye to summer. To me, it felt like summer just came and went. As soon as I completed my first quarter of my accounting program, I started summer session. What an intense 6 weeks that was! 16 weeks all crammed in 6 weeks, preposterous! But somehow, I survived those six weeks. Despite having my brain crammed with all sorts of accounting jargon and suffering from insomnia and being cranky 4 out of the 7 days of the week, it was worth it.

I decided to take some time away from blogging when the summer session ended and enjoy some personal time. I got to enjoy three wonderful weeks of summer with my other half. It was truly fulfilling and wonderful being able to spend time together and not having to worry about studying for a midterm every weekend or feel any kind of anxiety.

We worked on our health almost daily, yay for exercise! I started running; it’s something that I always hated and dreaded doing. He’s preparing and training for the L.A. Marathon next year. I became a practicing veggietarian (I still indulge in some meat on the weekends and I can’t bear to let go of my beloved Dino Nuggets) and was able to convince him to eat soy-based products, which surprisingly did not take much coercing. Those three weeks of summer were the perfect way to prep and ready ourselves for our busy Fall schedules – school and work.

We ended our summer watching Eminem and Rihanna play at the Rose Bowl…

image

 

IMG_4654

Enjoyed every last bit (and fried goodie) the OC Fair had to offer on closing weekend…

image

 

And every year we go to the fair, we go on the ferris wheel. It’s kind of a tradition. He was and will be the last person I ever go on ferris wheels with :)

image

 

And the other carnival rides the fair had to offer were so much fun too!

image

 

And of course, we couldn’t say goodbye to summer without squeezing in one last beach trip to our favorite place in all of Los Angeles, Manhattan Beach. This time we got to run on the Strand!

photo

Lastly, one of my summer goals was to learn how to swim. By the way, it is possible to forget how!

image

I’m looking forward to Autumn, the cooler weather, cozy scarves and sweaters, and all things pumpkin spiced!

From the bottom of my heart, I hope you all had a wonderful summer. Wishing you a wonderful week!

xoxo, kat

Leave a Reply

