she cooks, he eats || pepperoni and sausage-less sausages

photo

We’ve been alternating taking turns cooking dinner this week. He made his household famous enchiladas last night, and tonight I made us pita bread pizzas!

For him, the classic pepperoni pizza with the Trader Joe’s quattro formaggio blend (a tasty of parmesan, asiago, fontina, and mild provolone). And for myself, a soy sausage/shrimp pizza with the same cheese blend.

I’ve been on a health kick lately, especially with my 115 to 300 calorie work lunches (nothing but hummus/carrots sticks and kale salads for the past two weeks now) so at the end of the day I have huge cravings that need to be satisfied. I don’t count calories but I do keep a watchful eye on them and try to avoid sodium and meat when possible. I still love me my ribs and when my boyfriend whips up a steak, I’ll nosh on a few slices :)

I have been wanting to try soy-base/meat alternative products for awhile now. This week, I was lucky enough to roam aimlessly at my local Trader Joe’s and finally snatched a pack Italian Sausage-less Sausages and these things are amazing!!! You need to try this! Even my carnivore-loving boyfriend ate this and enjoyed it.

I’ve eaten these sausages two ways. The first time I heated it up in the microwave. It was delicious when it was hot out of the microwave, but when the sausages got cold you can really taste that soy flavor. The second way, I chopped the sausage up into bite sized pieces and heated it up on a skillet with a little bit of oil. I cooked them till they were browned and toasty. This is my favorite way of preparing these soy sausages. It’s so good!!!! The Italian spices really shine and it did taste just like the real thing!

Next on my shopping list will be: Morning Star Sausage Patties (I’ve been told that these taste just like bfast sausages), soy chorizo, tofu (I grew up eating tofu and there are just so many yummy tofu recipes I have pinned on Pinterest), and Tofurky sausages.

What are some of your favorite veggietarian/vegan products? I would love to hear some of your recommendations.

xoxo, kat

 

2 thoughts on “she cooks, he eats || pepperoni and sausage-less sausages

  1. Hello there,

    We would like to add your blog to the Top Food Blog list in http://www.mytaste.ph/ . Your blog is impressively BEAUTIFUL and it deserves to be included on the Top list!! Great recipes!! We will feature your blog and we will make a lot of shout out about your recipes on our fan pages so that people and our 4million users worldwide will be able to check it on our site.

    If you want to JOIN TOP FOOD BLOGS, here’s the link>> http://www.mytaste.ph/join_top_food_blogs

    EXPOSE YOUR BLOG!!! Joining won’t cost any cents

    Kind regards
    -Ricky
    info@mytaste.ph

Leave a Reply

