Pineapple Pie

Yes, pineapple pie. It does exist and it taste really good.

I always wanted to make a pineapple pie for my boyfriend’s dad because it is his favorite pie. And when we showed with a pineapple pie, his dad was smiling from ear to ear and his family really enjoyed it. That was a happy moment for me :)

I actually found this recipe on Pinterest! It’s a recipe from the 1950s from Ann Pillsbury. Is she from that Pillsbury??? After tasting this pie, I think she is!

In a saucepan, combine cornstarch, sugar, salt, a pineapple chunks (the recipe calls for crushed pineapples, I used the frozen mini pineapple chunks from Trader Joe’s) over medium high heat.

20140508-164840.jpg

You’ll need to keep stirring until it is thick. I used one additional tablespoon of cornstarch. You can get away with 2, but I think 3 is perfect.

20140508-164923.jpg

Stir in some butter and lemon juice. Let that cool completely before you put the filling on the pie crust.

20140508-165027.jpg

20140508-165044.jpg

Top off the pie anyway you want! I wanted to do lattice but my pie dough wasn’t having it that day so I just placed another layer of pie dough on top and sliced a few pie vents. Brush some water and sprinkle the top with some white sugar for a glistening effect.

20140508-165351.jpg

Bake at 425 for 25-30 minutes.

20140508-165525.jpg

Give it a try! I promise you won’t be disappointed :)

20140508-165602.jpg

Wishing you a happy Friday and a wonderful weekend!

xoxo, kat

Pineapple Pie

3 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups pineapple chunks
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 pie crusts

1) Over medium high heat, combine cornstarch, sugar, salt, and pineapple. Stir constantly until it is thick and clear.

2) Add butter and lemon juice. Cool completely.

3) Prepare pastry for a two-crust pie. Place filling.

4) Bake at 425 for 25-30 minutes.

5) Enjoy.

One thought on “Pineapple Pie

Leave a Reply

