Coconut Oil

20131211-195141.jpg

I’m not gonna lie, but I’ve never heard of coconut oil until now AND had no idea it was a solid! It took me awhile to find coconut oil at Trader Joe’s. In case your wondering, Trader Joe’s stocks their coconut oil on the very bottom shelf of their very small oils section :)

Before I continue any further, I’d like to put a disclaimer up and say that I am not an expert when it comes to health and body. Trust me, you don’t want advice from me…a girl that can eat 3 cupcakes in one sitting (more if the boyfriend wasn’t looking lol) and who craves doughnuts for breakfast and noodles for lunch/dinner.

But through from my readings on the interwebs, there are many health benefits associated with coconut oil. Some of these benefits can help with heart disease, weight loss management, hydrating skin, and moisturizing hair. I’m experimenting with coconut oil more for the last two reasons I mentioned….more so hair than skin.

Its supposedly very moisturizing for hair and can actually make your hair softer. You can even add in some honey for an extra moisturizing hair mask. But I’ve just been using the coconut oil by itself. I take a spoonful at a time and melt it with the heat from the palm of hands and rub it into my hair….concentrating on the ends and my bangs (typically where I concentrate the most heat when I’m styling my hair with heat styling tools). Then I pull it all together into a bun and just let it soak in for 15 minutes. You can always leave in for as long as you want, but definitely do leave in for a minimum of 15 minutes.

20131211-200236.jpg

I’ve only tried this coconut oil hair on my hair a handful of times (I’ve actually got coconut oil in my hair right now :) and honestly, I can’t say it’s really done much for me. My hair has always been soft so not much improvement in the softness department, but I do enjoy how it makes my hair feels weightless…less heavier which feels great!

Have you ever tried coconut oil on your hair? And do you have any suggestions for other uses for coconut oil?

Hope you’re all having a wonderful week! We’re halfway there!!! I have been feeling under the weather lately, but expect a new recipe up soon!

xoxo, kat

 

One thought on “Coconut Oil

Leave a Reply

