Pumpkin Pie

20131124-162849.jpg

pumpkin pie

I love to bake. I love baking for my boyfriend. I love baking for anyone who loves to eat sweets. I love baking, period.

We’re nearing Thanksgiving and I haven’t baked as nearly as many pies as I had hoped for. Two of the pies I wanted to make the most were the classic traditional pumpkin pie and the unconventional less traditional pineapple pie for Thanksgiving.

When it comes to satisfying my baking needs, there are two ladies I trust: Martha Stewart and Paula Deen. I trust the former for when I want to experiment and create something fancy and spectacular, and the latter for those occasions when I want to wow and impress (and know that it will please everyone). For those occasions, it’s Paula Deen. Hands down, Paula wins by a landslide.

After a quick search on the Food Network website, her pumpkin pie recipe was top on the list and definitely one of the most highly rated pumpkin pie recipes.

I modified it slightly and opted for a graham cracker crust. For the crust, it’s just crushed graham crackers, sugar, melted butter, cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg…

20131124-160909.jpg

20131124-161825.jpg

My boyfriend, the pie crust making master :)

20131124-161939.jpg

20131124-162016.jpg

All done! The key is to take it slow, pile it all on in the center and slowly smooth it outwards.

20131124-162122.jpg

While that browned in the oven, I worked on the pumpkin pie filling!

20131124-162249.jpg

I just LOVE graham cracker crusts!!

20131124-162441.jpg

In goes the filling!

20131124-162550.jpg

The worse part about baking is the waiting….but I just the smell of pumpkin pie in the air :)

20131124-163133.jpg

My first try at making a pumpkin pie was a success and I owe it all to a Paula Deen!

20131124-163838.jpg

What are some of your favorite desserts to make or bring to Thanksgiving?

xoxo, kat

Pumpkin Pie (via Paula Deen)

Pumpkin pie filling:

  • 1 8 oz. package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cups canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg + 2 egg yolks, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • a pinch of nutmeg

Graham cracker crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • a pinch of nutmeg

For the graham cracker crust…

  1. Mix the graham cracker crumbs, sugar, melted butter, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl. Press the mixture into a 9 inch pie plate.
  2. Bake at 375° for 7 minutes. Let cool.

For the pumpkin pie…

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese with a hand mixer. Add the pumpkin puree and beat until combine. Add the sugar and sale, and beat until combined. Add the eggs mixed with the yolks, half-and-half, melted butter and beat until combined. Lastly, add the vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg and beat until everything incorporated.
  3. Pour the filling into the graham cracker crust and bake for 50 minutes or until the center is set.
  4. Place the pie on a wire rack and cool to room temperature.
  5. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie

  1. OMGoodness looks great!!!! Graham cracker crust is a fantastic idea! I vow to make a graham cracker crust this year. I always do the same ole’ same ole’ except I use ginger spice in mine. I’m so glad to see you posting. XOXOXOOXOXO

Leave a Reply

