Apple Crumble

946546_10101799582279544_74251667_n

apple crumble

Almost like a pie, but better! The crumble topping is the best part! My crumbles tend to always have more crumble than fruit :)

I originally wanted to bake a pie for our 4th of July together, but I found out that it takes overnight to make a really good flakey pie crust! The key to really good pie crust is frozen butter lol. Sadly, there wasn’t enough time in the day to prep for pie crust, so I made an apple crumble for dessert instead! I love that it only takes 4o minutes to make! 10 to prep and 30 in the oven!

All you need are lots of apples! Any kind will do or use a variety of apples! When I make this, I usually use two apples and bake them in tiny ramekins for personal crumbles :)

image

In a saucepan over medium heat, cook the apples with a few tablespoons of sugar until they begin to soften. To prevent a soggy crumble, drain the apples with a strainer.

image_1

The best part is the crumb topping!!! Just brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, and my secret ingredient a pinch of nutmeg!

image_2

The fun part is combining it all with your hands! Tip: Make sure the butter is really cold. The warmth from your hands will melt the butter, and if the butter is not cold enough your crumble topping won’t be very crumbly…

image_3

Once that’s all done! Just scoop the apple filling into a pie dish and top with the crumble mixture AND sprinkle some MORE BROWN SUGAR!! Trust me, extra deliciousness!

image_4

Wait for 30 minutes and soon you will have a delicious apple crumble! For as long as I’ve been making crumbles, I’ve always used apples. Are there any other fruits that I need to use that I’ve been missing out on??

20130707-203106.jpg

This tastes just as good the next day, cold. Again, trust me on this :)

Anyhoo, I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend! I apologize for the lack of updates, I’ve been busy and sick…sick for the past three weeks! I spent all of Saturday in bed…sleeping… and forced myself to regularly to take medicine, drank lots tea, and get caught up on my Netflix queue. So I am very excited that it is Sunday, and I can finally go out and get some fresh air and sunshine and just spend the day with my love! Sigh, we hardly get to spend time together so we’re going to be staying in and cooking! My favorite and with my favorite person in the world, yay!

Happy Sunday Funday!

xoxo, kat

Apple Crumble (via Food Network)

  • 6 large apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 6 tablespoons sugar, divided
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 6 tablespoons cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Place the apples and just 1/2 of the sugar (3 tablespoons) into a saucepan and cook over medium heat for approximately 10 minutes or until apples begin to soften. Drain them and set aside.
  3. For the crumb topping,combine the remaining 3 tablespoons sugar, flour, cinnamon and butter in a bowl. Blend with your fingertips until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Set aside.
  4. Coat the apples with the lemon juice and spoon into a deep baking dish. Top with the crumble mix and sprinkle with the brown sugar.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes.

7 thoughts on “Apple Crumble

  1. Hey Kat! Looks Super deliciouso! Nice to see you posting! I haven’t checked my emails for much tooooooooooo long so I wanted to say happy 2nd anniversary also! My best to you always!
    XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

