ahem, how do I use this thing?

Oh dear… I don’t even know where to begin! At least I wished you all a happy new year, right? :)

While I twiddle my thumbs late into the night staring at a blank blog post, trying to think of a witty story to tell you guys why I’ve been missing for so long… I… I can’t come up with one. Frankly, this 8-5 lifestyle I’ve been living has sucked the fun out of me. I miss those days of doing absolutely nothing and doing absolutely anything and everything I wanted to with my trusty sidekick in tow, of course! Sigh, those were the days…

Over the weekend, he made me promise that I continue blogging and well, here I am!! I have hundreds of photos and stories I want to share! Of course these stories go way back (like our friendship, hehe :). I’ve got pics from Thanksgiving, Christmas, weekend misadventures, Superbowl Sunday, Valentine’s Day, and tons and tons of foodie pics :D

I am still that same girl that makes her boyfriend stop eating midway just so I can snap that perfect pic :). Now he’ll actually shift things around for me so that I can get the perfect angle, that’s my dreamboat sweetheart!!

Before I spam you with a million photos, I have a confession to make. I have been practicing vegetarianism for the past few months. I am a veggietarian Monday through Friday. Why? Because I’m a health kick and who doesn’t want to live a healthier life? But don’t worry, I still indulge in my beloved bacon every now and then and I do eat meat occasionally, call me a social meat eater, and when I am with my carnivore loving boyfriend :).

Okay, onto the pictures!! The weekend was spent with his family and at one of their informal family gatherings/mini parties. The weekend before, his parents said they brought a trunk full of fish with them back from vacation and his dad said he was going to make fried fish. I had his fried fish before and it’s amazing! Let’s just say, I waited impatiently for this fish all week… :)

I will let the pictures do all the talking :D

fresh fish!!

fresh fish!!

poor fishy going into the hot oil

poor fishy going into the hot oil

that was his fate :(

that was his fate :(

ooooh ahhhh

ooooh ahhhh

reincarnated and straight into my belly :)

reincarnated and straight into my belly :)

mmmmm

mmmmm

Now, fish bones scare the bejeezus. I cannot eat a fish with it’s bones attached, I fear the horrible fate of choking to death. I remember once I ordered special fish of the day at this fancy restaurant in Berlin and the waitress came back with a whole fish on a platter. I was like “ermahgerd!” Oh memories lol :)

we shared :)

we shared :)

don't let that innocent looking salad fool you! it was spicy...too spicy!

don’t let that innocent looking salad fool you! it was spicy…too spicy for my tastebuds to handle!

fish taco :P

fish taco :P

fishy bones, ermahgerd!

fishy bones, ermahgerd!

the head ruh roh

the head ruh roh

fresh batch!

fresh batch!

more salads! the one on the left is a marlin type of fish salad, aaaahmazing!

more salads! the one on the left is a marlin type of fish salad, aaaahmazing!

this was fifths for me :D

this was fifths for me :D

by the end of the night, I was an expert and deboning :)

by the end of the night, I was an expert at deboning :)

then came the cotton candy maker!

then came the cotton candy maker!

a few technical difficulties but it finally worked!

a few technical difficulties but it finally worked!

looks like a giant cotton swab lol

looks like a giant cotton swab lol

pink perfection :)

pink perfection :)

and more desserts!

and more desserts!

spotted the world's largest tv remote :D

spotted the world’s largest tv remote :D

I ate so much! I was stuffed! I’m pretty positive I ate more than anyone there! What a great weekend!

I hope you all had a fabulous President’s Day weekend and a happy Monday! Thanks for letting me share my weekend with you! And thank you all so much for checking in even on my hiatus lol. And thanks to Quirk Books publishers, I have so many new cookbooks and recipes I want to share with you guys! Eeeeep I am excited :)

xoxo, kat

 

4 thoughts on “ahem, how do I use this thing?

  1. Wow that’s amazing about the fish! I bet those were delicious. And amazing to see you on here! HEHEHEHEHE Good to see you darlin. I was a vegetarian for about five years so I understand the vegitarianism thing! It’s all good! I’ve been so busy I have completely abandoned some of my social networks too. It’s hard making a living, enjoying one on one time with your spouse and having time for other things! XOXO

Leave a Reply

