Super Soft Snickerdoodle Cookies

super soft snickerdoodle cookies

I know what you’re thinking… Are they really soft? And are they really super soft?

Honestly, those are the types of questions that run through my mind when I see some slap the word “soft” in front of cookie. But trust me, these really are soft!!! Like cakey soft! The best soft cookie ever! And they hold up really well afterwards (ie. still super soft!), only if you’re able to not eat them all after the first 2 days :)

I googled quite a bit of recipes before I stumbled on this one, and just fell in love with it! I loved how all the ingredients listed in the recipe, I already had (expect the flour but that’s no biggie because I was going to the store anyways :)! And it has nutmeg and that made me super happy because I have a bottle of nutmeg that has barely been touched, and I didn’t have to splurge on a bottle of cream of tartar which I don’t really know what it can be used for other than sugar/snickerdoodle cookies… So if anyone knows, please do let me know! I need to be educated :)

By no means am I a baking expert, but I think what makes these cookies cakey soft is that you use eggs rather than cream of tartar which is typically used in traditional snickerdoodles.

Typical list of dry ingredients include: flour, brown sugar, white sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt…

and the wet ingredients include melted butter, eggs and a splash of vanilla extract.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until the dough has just formed.

If the dough is a little bit too sticky to the touch, put it in the fridge for a few minutes and the dough should be easier to work with later. An amazing trick that my friend taught me to use when baking is to measure each spoonful so that the cookies can bake evenly. I find that 1 tablespoon is the perfect amount!

Dip balls into the cinnamon sugar mixture…

Evenly space the snickerdoodles on a cookie sheet and bake at 425° for exactly 7 minutes!

KITCHEN TIP What I really love about her recipe is that it really did take me exactly 7 minutes to bake! That never ever happens and I always end up slightly over-baking my cookies! But if you’re unsure, bake a small test batch.

What I also like to do is to test how flat or puffy my cookie will end up, so I always: flatten 2, leave 2 alone as a “ball” and lightly flatten 2. In the original recipe, she has you flatten the cookies and I didn’t like how her cookies came out so flat… But if you leave them as ball or even slightly flatten them with your pointer and middle finger then it’ll come out how I have it pictured above. Also, I think making them puffy is what gives it that super soft cakey texture. 

The pic below is my “test batch” :)

I love these snickerdoodles and it’s going into my cookie repertoire :)

Do you have a go-to snickerdoodle cookie? Now that my quest for a soft snickerdoodle is found, I’m now on the hunt for a chewy snickerdoodle! Let me know if you have a tried and trusted recipe :)

Have a wonderful day!

xoxo, kat

Super Soft Snickerdoodle Cookies (via theKitchn)

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspon vanilla extract

for the cinnamon sugar:

  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Heat the oven to 425°F.
  2. Gently melt the butter in a saucepan or in the microwave and let it cool while you mix the dry ingredients.
  3. Stir together the sugars, flour, spices, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Whisk the eggs into the cooled butter and add the vanilla.
  5. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, stirring just until it comes together.
  6. In a soup plate or shallow bowl, mix together the white sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
  7. Scoop 1 tablespoon of dough and roll them in the cinnamon sugar. Place them on an unlined, ungreased baking sheet and flatten slightly.
  8. Bake for 7 minutes then remove and let cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack.

13 thoughts on “Super Soft Snickerdoodle Cookies

  1. Yumm I never bake cookies often enough! I think this weekend would be the perfect time for a new recipe. I agree that buying cream of tarter seems silly, since it’s so rarely used. I have a biscuit recipe that calls for it, and lots of whipped-egg-whites/meringue recipes call for it as well — but that’s nearly all I can think of!

  2. Kat – you are the cookie queen! I have not made cookies since I last let you know I did… :( Hugs anyway. If you would care to send me cookies, I will gladly accept them. Soft and chewy, hard and crunchy or in-between! :)

  3. I might try this, I have all the ingredients to my cup board.. I will let you know the outcome..thanks for sharing. I only try cookies once on site.

Leave a Reply

