Martha Stewart’s Baked Ravioli

martha stewart’s baked ravioli

As promised, here’s part one of my cooking extravaganza date night!

These baked raviolis were yummy and so easy to make, err prepare…lol. There isn’t much work required into making this  and it’s also very customizable so obviously this was a date night success!

PS, baked ravioli is now up there with my lasagna/lasagna rolls for his favorites :)

If you love meat, I would definitely suggest adding in some ground beef with the onions…

For an extra kick of flavor, I always add a sprinkle of red pepper flakes whenever I’m making a sauce.

I went with good ‘ol cheese raviolis! But I’m sure any flavor will be just as good!

This was two packages of ravioli, but next time I think I will just use one and half the recipe because it’s a lot just for the two of us! But hey, my boyfriend loves leftovers! :)

I find that the best way to “assemble” this dish is to layer it, so I layer of sauce, a layer of ravioli, and a layer of cheese…

Don’t forget to pile on lots of cheese!

KITCHEN TIP There are no measurements when it comes to cheese on baked dishes, none.

Put it in the oven and bake until the cheese is melted and golden…I love that cheesy top layer!

Eat it while it’s still warm! Mmmmmmm

I’m so happy to be back in the kitchen :)

What are some of your favorite recipes from Martha Stewart? And stay tuned for my new favorite snickerdoodle recipes!

Have a beautiful day! xoxo, kat

(pps, baked ravioli = alternative/quicker version of lasagna)

Baked Ravioli (from Martha Stewart)

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried thyme, or oregano
  • 1 can (28 ounces) whole tomatoes
  • 1 can (28 ounces) crushed tomatoes
  • 2 pounds store-bought frozen ravioli
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic, and season with salt and pepper; cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add thyme and tomatoes. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer, breaking up tomatoes with spoon, until sauce is thickened and reduced to about 5 1/2 cups, 20 to 25 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, cook ravioli in a large pot of boiling salted water just until they float to the top (pasta will continue to cook in oven). Drain pasta; return to pot.
  4. Toss sauce with pasta. Pour pasta into a large gratin dish or 9-by-13-inch baking dish, and sprinkle with cheeses. Bake until golden, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool slightly before serving.

8 thoughts on “Martha Stewart’s Baked Ravioli

  1. That is a great dish! Much easier than lasagna and would feed a crowd! Thanks for posting–i think i’ll do this recipe on Friday or Sat. nite because I could still have martinis and not mess it up!

    1. Thanks! I think without the beef it would of been sorta plan and given the fact that it’s a lot of pasta, meat needed to go in lol :)

      Good idea about freezing half, I love it! How come I never think of that stuff?? Haha.

Leave a Reply

