Garlic Jasmine Rice with Pork Tonkatsu and Tonkatsu Sauce

garlic jasmine rice with pork tonkatsu and tonkatsu sauce

For date night last week, I made pork tonkatsu! I’m very excited to blog about this because I did all the work myself…even THE. FRYING. PART. Simple ingredients, easy to put together…this is just such a great yummy homemade date night food :)

First, rinse the pork chops and pat dry. If the pork is moist and wet, the breading will end up being gunky and soggy.

Since our chops were on the extra thick side, I sliced them in half lengthwise and trimmed off the excess fat. Make sure it’s cut evenly throughout otherwise it won’t be cooking evenly throughout. If it does end up getting a little lopsided, feel free to pound it with a meat tenderizer.

Season both sides liberally with salt and pepper and set aside…

In one container, crack two eggs and lightly beat them with a fork…

Coat a plate with tons of flour and be sure to grind some fresh pepper and salt. I don’t know if you can tell, but I have pink salt! Pink salt = happy camper! :)

Your tonkatsu coating station will look a little bit like this! Oh ps, be sure to season the panko with salt and pepper too. I think that’s key to making sure that the tonkatsu has flavor because some of the seasonings may come during the coating process…

And so it begins… (1) dip in flour, (2) bathe in egg wash, and (3) coat with lots of panko!

Then heat a large skillet with 1/2 inch of oil until its hot. Lay one or two cutlets into the oil and deep fry until it’s golden brown for about 3-4 minutes per side.

KITCHEN TIP: Start off with only cooking one cutlet! This will be your trial-and-error cutlet. If your tonkatsu if coming out too dark and not golden, then turn down the temperature for the oil. Within the first cutlet, you’ll get an idea of what the correct oil temperature is and how long to cook it so use those kitchen timers! For us, the stove temp was set on medium and it took about 3 minutes per side for it to be nice and golden.

I had to do a quickie Google recipe search to make the tonkatsu sauce and picked the first search result I found (Ashley’s Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce via allrecipes.com)! I was surprised that all you needed to make tonkatsu sauce with was worcestershire sauce, ketchup, soy sauce, and pepper…

I am going to be honest here, but I did not like the sauce one bit! I followed her directions to a T and the sauce came out being too runny and it tasted like all worcestershire sauce. I guess I should have read some of the comments before I jumped right into making the sauce because there were quite a few negative comments regarding the sauce, sigh… ps, I will not be listing the recipe for the tonkatsu sauce below, please refer to link above…

Honestly, I didn’t know what I did to salvage the sauce but I added lots of sugar, gigantic squirts of ketchup, and a few swirls of organic blue agave syrup which really helped it! If anyone has a better tonkatsu sauce recipe, please please let me know! :)

Let the cutlets cool for a few minutes before cutting them into slices…

Serve over a plate of garlic jasmine rice and drizzle some of the tonkatsu sauce on top :)

Dinner is served! What’s on your menu plan for date night this week? :)

xoxo, kat

Pork Tonkatsu

  • slices of thin boneless pork chops
  • flour for dredging (season with salt and pepper)
  • two eggs, lightly beaten
  • panko bread crumbs (season with salt and pepper)
  • oil for frying
  • salt + pepper

Directions:

  1. Rinse chops and pat dry. Season both sides with salt and pepper.
  2. Dredge in flour, then dip in egg mixture, and press the panko to coat both sides.
  3. Heat a large skillet with about 1/2 inch of oil until hot and lay one or two cutlets into the hot oil. Fry for about 3-4 minutes per side.
  4. Drain the cutlets onto a paper towel and cut into bite-sized strips.

Garlic Jasmine Rice

  • 1 cup jasmine rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic (minced, more the better!)
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • salt + pepper
  1. In a small pot, melt butter. Once butter is melted, add in the jasmine rice and garlic. Stir to coat the rice with the flavors of the butter and garlic.
  2. Add 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil. Then reduce to a slow simmer until all the liquids have evaporated, and stirring only once of twice.
  3. Serve warm.

7 thoughts on “Garlic Jasmine Rice with Pork Tonkatsu and Tonkatsu Sauce

  1. Ohhhh good step by step instructions! I like that…and the tip about trying one first….good job on slicing those chops in half. You have exemplary knife skills! Did u use canola or vegetable oil for frying? Sometimes I get CORNfused on which oil to use. Thanks for posting! xo

    1. Hi Trish! It’s always sooooo nice hearing from you :). I think I used olive oil, only because it’s the only oil we had available :)

  2. Looks delicious!! I don’t like pork chops usually, unless they’re boneless and cooked specially like these. I want this soo bad, and the garlic jasmine rice sounds fab! If we hadn’t just gotten back from vacay I’d probably be all over this tonight…maybe it’ll be one of our weeknight dishes when I’m less lazy :)

      1. I made it tonight!!!!!!! It was SOO good, OMG, and it’s crazy b/c there isn’t like a ton of spices or anything, but gosh…delicious! Great tip about having a ‘test’ chop first to see if the oil is too hot etc. too, thanks Kat! And – I used the recipe for Tonkatsu sauce on Allrecipes [http://allrecipes.com/recipe/tonkatsu–katsu-sauce/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=tonkatsu&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe], and added a touch of sugar (about a tbsp) and it was quite good :)

      2. AHHHH YAY YAY YAY! So happy you got to try it and liked it! Oooh you tried a different sauce from the one I used? I wasn’t too please with the one I tried and had to add a lot of sugar and maple syrup to not make it taste like Worcestershire sauce lol. I am going to try the recipe you used for the sauce next time!

        Eeeek you made my day and OH! the rest of the week! :)

Leave a Reply

