2 Minute Brownie

Hi, I’m Kat and I’m a Pinterest addict…

If you’re on Pinterest as much as me, then I’m sure you’ve come across one or two mug recipes. Ok, more like tons! I have a whole board dedicated to these mug recipes!

So what are these mug recipes that I speak of? They are these quick and easy cakes that can be made in the microwave in no less than 5 minutes! Sounds enticing, no? Well, after pinning more than ten mug recipes I knew I had to try! The prep work is easy-peasy, but the taste…err the taste…hmm well let you know at the end of this post…

Making this 2 minute brownie is very simple! For the dry ingredients, you will need: flour, brown sugar, cocoa powder, and a small pinch of salt.

Once you’ve stirred it to the point that it’s lump-free, add the wet ingredients which are oil and water (can sub with with milk or coffee).

Mix it all together until you’ve formed a thick extra gooey paste…

Now you can either pour the brownie batter into a microwaveable mug or a microwave-safe ramekin, I chose the latter :)

Now this last and final step is tricky but if you’re a smartie then don’t worry, you can do it! Just microwave on high for a minute checking if after 30 seconds. BUT if you have frequent brain farts and are a ditz like me, then microwave in 30 second intervals (and check after each 30 seconds) until you’ve reached two minutes. Honestly, where is the “high” button on the microwave? :(

And voilà! Two minutes later, the birth of a brownie!

Now, on to the important part!

What’s the texture like? – Rich, chewy, yucky, bleh…

How does it taste? – Like crap. It has a slight burn taste to it, hard to describe really…

So yes, this was a 2 minute brownie fail! Definitely not delicious or beautiful looking like I had envisioned it. Anyhoo, I’m deleting my “mugs” board on Pinterest.

Le sigh, if anyone has ever tried these microwave mug cakes before do tell me what I’m doing wrong! I had such high hopes for these :/

xoxo

2 Minute Brownie (via Babble)

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil or other mild vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons milk, coffee or water

Directions:

  1. In a heatproof mug or ramekin, stir together the dry ingredients until no lumps remain. Stir in the oil and milk until you have a thick paste.
  2. Microwave on high for a minute, checking it after 30 seconds (microwaves vary) – it will be done when it’s springy on top but still a bit gooey – like the very best brownie. Eat warm.

8 thoughts on “2 Minute Brownie

  1. Mug cakes! I have never heard of them—your right the concept sounds great—– Your taste is probably too sophisticated for them and I like your honesty! On a positive note you got to use your adorable purple ramekins!

    1. Aww Trish, you’re such a sweetheart! Now that you’ve mentioned it, that’s what I was thinking too! I hardly get to use the ramekins as much as I would like lol :). Have a wonderful day! xoxo

  2. lol— thanks for the laugh this morning! I was all excited until I got to your how does it taste? Like crap. Now that sounds like some of MY experiments! Thanks for making me smile on this Monday morning :)

    1. Ooh I’ve actually pinned that one before! I really want to try another mug recipe but I feel like I’m just going to be disappointed again :(

Leave a Reply

