Frosted Sugar Cookie Bars

frosted sugar cookie bars

I’ve been seeing these frosted sugar cookie bars on Pinterest and the interwebs for awhile now. I’ve had this recipe saved in my must-try list since summer. That’s a long time but I’m very happy I finally got to make it! I don’t have a clue as to where these cookies originate from but they are super delicious and extremely easy to make!

These are definitely not your ordinary sugar cookie! Sure they taste like a sugar cookie, but they have the dense texture of cake. If you love soft cookies, then these would be right up your alley!

Ingredients needed to make your own batch of frosted sugar cookie bars: unsalted butter, granulated sugar, eggs, vanilla extract, all-purpose flour, salt, baking soda, frosting and sprinkles.

In a large bowl with an electric mixer, cream the butter and sugar. Once that’s nice and fluffy, add one egg at a time, making sure everything is incorporated after each addition. Add in the vanilla.

In a separate bowl, sift all the dry ingredients. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, one cup at a time, until everything is well combined.

Baker’s tip: Once all the dry ingredients have been added, I find that it’s much easier to fully incorporate everything with my hands. It may be a bit messy, but it’s fun! And you’ll end up with a pretty nice ball of dough :)

Lightly grease a medium (or large) rectangular cake pan. The cake pan I’m using is a Williams-Sonoma 9″ x 13″ cake pan and it’s held up very nicely! As you can see, I originally was going to bake this on one of my larger Nordic Ware baking sheets (a monthiversary gift from my boyfriend :) but that didn’t turn out too well (ditch the foil) haha.

baking sheet fail :(

You’ll want spread the dough evenly in the cake pan. This part takes a bit of work…the best advice I can give you with this step is to slap it, ha!

cake pan ftw :)

Bake at 375°F for about 20-25 minutes. Most recipes I found online for this had a baking time of 10-15 minutes…umm, yeah it won’t be done in 10-15 minutes, trust me on this :) You want to bake till it’s a light golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.

Wait for it to completely cool before you even attempt to frost it. During this time, feel free to eat some wings and take a nap on the couch or make your favorite frosting recipe. Clearly, I chose the first! ps, I took the semi-homemade route, Sandra Lee would be proud :)

Since this is a themed cookie, decorate with the cutest festive sprinkles you can find.

I was on the quest for tea bags and minding my own business at Target, when these beauties appeared into my line of sight…sigh, of course I bought (the heart-shaped sprinkles alone persuaded me :)

How cute, right! My boyfriend said that these are perfect party food cookies! If you’re having a small get together, potluck, or need desserts to bring to your child’s class V-Day party (aww I remember how much I loved those!) then these will definitely impress any party guest on your list.

Haha, that’s my motto: bake to impress :)

xoxo, kat

Frosted Sugar Cookie Bars (via Love and Olive Oil)

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • frosting (store-bought or you’re favorite frosting recipe)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. In a large bowl with an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Mix in vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl sift together flour, salt, and baking soda. Slowly add to butter mixture and mix just until combined.
  4. Grease a large rimmed baking sheet (a 13×18 or 10×15 jelly roll pan) or line with parchment paper. Gently and evenly spread out batter onto sheet.
  5. Bake for 20-25, , until light golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before frosting.

8 thoughts on “Frosted Sugar Cookie Bars

  1. Those look delish! I definitely miss class V-day parties as well. Talking with a family friend’s daughter now, they aren’t even allowed to bring candy/treats to school. Just plain cards for V-Day! I couldn’t believe it, going through the candy when you got home was the best part!

Leave a Reply

