Cake Mix Snickerdoodles

cake mix snickerdoodles

I made snickerdoodle cookies. I cheated. I used cake mix. It took me less than 20 minutes. It’s semi-homemade. I fooled my boyfriend into thinking I took forever. It worked. And now he’s in love with me. I am a genius :)

Me, a genius? Noooo! Me, lazy…yes.

After a Google search for snickerdoodles, I somehow landed on Betty Crocker’s website. Hmm reminiscent of November 2011, haha. If I said it already, I’m saying it again…Betty Crocker is a genius! I love the idea of incorporating cake mix because (a) cookie making time is cut in half; (b) no need to measure out ingredients; (c) super affordable; and (d) everything that you need is already in the box. Now I can understand why crazy couponers love to have a stockpile of cake mixes :)

Check out how to make your own snickerdoodles from cake mix…

INGREDIENTS: white cake mix, egg, butter, sugar and cinnamon

First things first, always preheat that oven! Preheat oven to 350° F.

STEP 1: Melt 1/2 cup of butter.

STEP 2: In a large bowl, mix cake mix, melted butter, and egg...

mix just until dough starts to form.

For the cinnamon-sugar mixture…

STEP 3: Mix 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in a small bowl.

STEP 4: Roll dough into 1-inch balls.

STEP 5: Roll the balls in the cinnamon-sugar mixture.

STEP 6: Flatten the balls with the bottom of a glass cup (optional).

Bake in the oven for 10 to 12 minutes…

snickerdoodles!!

Easy as cake!! No pun intended… A plate of delicious semi-homemade snickerdoodles in less than 20 minutes!

Will you be giving cake mix cookies a try? Or are you in love with this idea and you plan on sharing more semi-homemade recipes using cake mix with me??? :)

xoxo, kat

Cake Mix Snickerdoodles (from Betty Crocker)

  • 1 package Betty Crocker Supermoist white cake mix
  • 1/2 butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  2. Mix cake mix, butter and egg in a large bowl with a spoon until dough forms (some dry mix will remain).
  3. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Mix sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Roll balls in cinnamon-sugar. Place about 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.
  4. Bake 10-12 minutes or until set. Remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack.

6 thoughts on “Cake Mix Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

