pancake fail…

:(

Remember this mystery way back when?? I called it a monster. But it’s really a German pancake (aka Dutch baby pancake, Bismarck, Dutch puff, or puff pancake…phew! so many names for a hideous being…).

My fascination with this really puffy pancake began when I first stumbled upon Emeril’s German Apple Pancake recipe online. It looked beautiful! Emeril’s description of the pancake had my mouth watering. I was sold. This was going to be my breakfast.

So the next morning, I told my boyfriend I’m making us a German pancake! But later I found out that he ate all the apples…the apples I needed for my German apple pancake. I could of sworn I remember telling him the day before not to eat the apples, but little did he remember :(

Apples or no apples, I was on a quest to make German pancakes for breakfast!

And this is how it all started…

INGREDIENTS: 4 eggs, milk, brown sugar, flour, butter, vanilla extract, granulated sugar, and cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 4oo°F, and butter up a large skillet.

STEP 1: In a large bowl, combine eggs, milk, vanilla, and flour, and whisk until just blended. Season with some salt for taste. Set the batter aside for 20 minutes.

STEP 2: Pour the batter into a heavy skillet. Bake for 20 mins at 400° F, then reduce heat to 350° F and bake for another 10 mins.

This is what it looks like while it’s baking in the oven… I don’t know what ingredient caused it to puff up like that, but it happened.

???

After it’s done baking, it will look quite unsightly…

it will puff down right in front of your eyes! be sure to watch, it's pretty cool :)

Let it rest for a few minutes. Since I didn’t have any apples, I made a cinnamon-sugar mixture to coat the pancake with.

INGREDIENTS: granulated sugar and cinnamon

mix equal parts with a fork

Sprinkle the cinnamon-sugar mixture over the pancake.

voila??? :/

THE VERDICT: So bland. It was terrible! Tasted nothing like a pancake, but more like flour…

Sigh…that’s my pancake fail of the year! For those of you that have been lucky enough to a German pancake, how does it taste?! Is it suppose to be super puffy and deflate? Did I do something wrong?

If any you do make German pancakes, be sure to let me how you make them! I think a Round 2 is in order :)

xoxo, kat

German Pancake (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

serving size: one large skillet or two 9-inch pancakes

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup flour, sifted
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven 400°F.
  2. Butter up a skillet or use two-9 inch cake pans.
  3. Whisk the eggs, milk, flour, sugar, and vanilla extract in a large bowl. Season with a smidge of salt. Set aside for 20 minutes.
  4. Pour the batter into prepared cake pans or a large 12-inch heavy skillet.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes at 400°F, then reduce the heat to 350°F and bake for another 10 minutes.
  6. Cool and serve.

6 thoughts on “pancake fail…

  1. German pancakes are suppose to puff in the oven and deflate when cooled. So you didn’t cook the pancake wrong.

Leave a Reply

