Rewind: Top 11 of 2011

photo kitt3yzzz.tumblr.com

The end of the year and the start of a new one is always bittersweet for me… I hate to see the year come to a close, but then on the other end of the spectrum I’m looking forward to 2012 and all the new challenges and opportunities that may come my way.

On July 13, 2011 she cooks, he eats was created. Check out one my very first post here! I started this food blog with the intention of chronicling my journey as a newbie cook! Prior to 2011, I didn’t cook….just random baking of cupcakes every now and then. Actually learning to cook was one of my resolutions when 2011 started, and I’m very proud to say that I actually accomplished a resolution for once in my life!

With almost 6 months of blogging under my belt, I feel slightly accomplished. Accomplished in the sense that I did something. I exposed myself and my life to this crazy alternate world that we call the internet. It’s scary…but it also one of the greatest communities to be apart of. I’ve met so many wonderful people via my blog…people that I like to call friends.

By no means am I declaring myself an expert. I’m not. Nor will I ever be. I love to learn. I love to cook. I love to cook for my boyfriend. He means the world to me! I think cooking is one of those unspoken gestures that one can do to show love, appreciation, and affection. I guess it’s just my silly way of telling him I care. He actually bought me my very first cookbook :)

With everything that’s said, thank you for reading my blog. Thank you for giving me the chance share my life, and everything I eat with you! :)

Here’s a list of my favorite top 11 recipes from 2011…

(1) Momofuku’s Ginger Scallion Noodles 

These are my favorite noodles ever! You may of heard me talk about this a lot, but that’s only because it’s quick and so easy! And the ginger scallion sauce compliments the ramen noodles perfectly! I love eating this for lunch. Keep in mind to always use fresh Japanese ramen, please please please do not buy that processed stuff that you get at the grocery store. It will never do this noodle justice!

momofuku's ginger scallion noodles

(2) Paula Deen’s Zesty Roasted Garlic Bread

My quest for the best garlic bread recipe is over, because this is so good! And it’s from Ms. Paula Deen, butter queen extraordinaire! So you know she won’t disappoint! Try it out and you’ll taste what I’ve been raving about! 

paula deen's zesty roasted garlic bread

(3) Paula Deen’s Lots O’Meat Lasagna

Another Paula Deen recipe! Surprise, surprise…I love Paula Deen! She’s one of my favorites from the Food Network! This is my boyfriend’s favorite! It’s packed with two types of meats and a variety of cheeses…a plus for your manly man! Do make an extra lasagna because day-after lasagna is just too good to not eat! 

paula deen's lots o'meat lasagna

(4) Betty Crocker’s Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Due to an unforeseen cookie craving, I wasted half an hour googling a recipe for chocolate chip cookies when all I should of done was just head on over to Betty Crocker’s website. These cookies were my best batch of chocolate chip cookies to date! The boyfriend loved it! I loved it! I hope you get to love it too! :)

betty crocker's ultimate chocolate chip cookies

(5) Maple Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

This was my first foray into chicken wings! I love chicken wings because they make awesome finger foods! Be sure to lick all that maple off your fingers because it really is that finger licking delicious!

maple garlic ginger chicken wings

(6) Baked Parmesan Garlic Chicken Wings

The complete polar opposite from maple garlic ginger wings! These wings are savory unlike their sweet counterpart. These wings are perfect for last minute gatherings because it only takes 40 minutes from start to finish! A lot quicker if you’re a quicker chopper, but I’m a bit of a scaredy cat and chop very slow :)

baked parmesan garlic chicken wings

(7) Quattro Formaggio, Spinach and Bacon Macaroni and Cheese

I’m so lucky my parents never fed me that yucky mac and cheese with the powered cheese sauce growing up. Honestly, I find nothing appealing about boxed mac and cheese… I call this my grown-up mac and cheese! Sure it takes a little bit of effort on your part, but it’s so worth it! Be sure to sprinkle lots of bacon bits! 

quattro formaggio, spinach and bacon macaroni and cheese

(8) Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes

Meat and potatoes, meat and potatoes! It’s a great dish to make if you want to impress your date! It looks and taste amazing but it’s definitely another one of those no-fuss dishes! It’s very quick and easy to put together! Taste great as is or pair with mexican rice

spanish chicken with chorizo and potatoes

(9) Steak Tacos with Fired Tomato and Chile Salsa

This is my boyfriend’s specialty. He is a fantastic cook! I have him make this for me any chance I get! As an alternative, try frying tacos! Even if your not eating tacos, be sure to try his fired tomato and chile salsa! It goes great with salty tortilla chips and is way better than any store-bought salsa around! I may be a bit biased :)

steak tacos with fired tomato and chile salsa

(10) Kat’s Crispy Fish

You will rarely find a recipe on here that requires deep frying. I prefer to use the oven than a fryer, and I’m sure you all know why. But on my cheat days, this is an exception. There’s nothing better than knowing that you can make your own fried fish and having it taste a million times better than having to head out to a fast food joint to satisfy fried food cravings. I paired this with my go-to ginger scallion noodles, but it taste great alone or use it to make fish tacos! This is also one of my boyfriend’s ultimate favorites.

kat's crispy fish

(11) Spaghetti and Meatballs

Who doesn’t love spaghetti and meatballs? It’s comfort food! But the key to really good spaghetti and meatballs is making your own sauce and meatballs. It’s really not as hard as you think!! A simple sauce made with tomatoes, butter and onions and homemade baked meatballs can be achieved in less than an hour! Yes, less than an hour! 

spaghetti and meatballs

Phew, that’s my top 11! It was a lot harder than you may think because if I had the chance I would love to cook all these meals over again! One of the challenges of writing a food blog is trying not to “repeat” meals, but sometimes I do… I can’t help it, it’s that good! :)

I hope you get to try some of these wonderful dishes. I love that they are simple, but a slight homemade twist makes it a little bit special.

I’m looking forward to starting fresh and I can’t wait to ring in the new year in a few days!

Cheers to 2012!

xoxo, kat

ps. I would love to thank Barb for giving me inspiration to start blogging again! I admit I had a bout of blogger’s block! It’s the holidays, I’m so sorry I’m stuck on vacation mode! Please check out her blog, Life in the Foothills, for some fantastic recipes and photos!

7 thoughts on “Rewind: Top 11 of 2011

  1. I knew that you could come up with a topic! Love it! This has inspired me to do something similar! Hugs my friend and happy new year! May you do well in school in 2012; and may the year be happy, healthy, and prosperous!

  2. “You’ve come a long way Baby!” ……It takes most people 10 years to try everthing you have accomplished in six months! You have a natural ability to cook and most importantly you love and enjoy it! We’ll be cheering you on to bring us more goodness in 2012.

Leave a Reply

