Paula Deen’s Zesty Roasted Garlic Bread

paula deen's zesty roasted garlic bread

I’ve definitely come a long way since my first attempt at making garlic bread. For those that think that you can’t mess up garlic bread, I did… it was that horrible. In my defense, I still blame it on the bread! :)

My second try at garlic bread was pretty good, but I thought it was tooooo buttery tasting and not enough garlic, sigh… Well, Paula Deen to the rescue!!!  This Paula Deen recipe is now my new go-to garlic bread recipe. The fact that there’s roasted garlic involved, it makes it a million times better! I think next time, I should throw in another head of garlic! I LOVE garlic! Too much?? :)

This is a pretty easy peasy recipe but it takes a bit more time and effort to make, but it tastes soooo good! Trust me!

Check it out below…

INGREDIENTS: loaf of bread, one head of garlic, butter, olive oil, parsley, s+p

Before you start anything, pre-heat the oven to 425°. I have a tendency to always forget midway…

STEP 1: Cut the top off of the garlic. Place it on a sheet of aluminum foil. Drizzle with olive oil and ground some fresh black pepper. Wrap it up and bake in the oven.

STEP 2: Bake for 30 mins and let cool.

While the garlic is roasting in the oven, make the butter spread mixture…

STEP 3: Place 2 sticks of butter (soften) in a bowl.

STEP 4: Finely chop up some parsley.

STEP 5: Place the parsley in the bowl with the butter.

STEP 6: Squeeze the roasted garlic into the bowl.

STEP 7: Stir to combine.

I opted to only use half a loaf of bread. As much as I love eating garlic bread, I believe freshly made garlic bread tastes the best the day of…

STEP 8: Slice loaf in half then lengthwise.

STEP 9: Spread the garlic butter mixture evenly on the bread. Broil 5 1/2 inches from heat, with oven door partially opened, for 2 to 3 minutes, OR until butter melts and bread is toasted (I used this method). Cut into slices to serve.

sprinkle with some cheese and devour!

It came out perfect and so delicious! A certain unnamed someone loved this and practically ate almost all the pieces of bread you see on that plate! Hehe. I plan on making this more often, but only as a guilty treat snack! :)

Hope you all get to try Paula’s recipe soon! What’s your favorite garlic bread recipe? Anything different that you do to spruce it up? Please do share, I would love to know!

xoxo, kat

Oh ps, if you have extra garlic butter spread leftover, put it in a Tupperware container or try making it into butter shape form and wrapping it in plastic wrap. Either way, I’m excited I have extra garlic butter spread! Imagine all the yummy things I can make with it! :)

Paula Deen’s Zesty Roasted Garlic Bread (via Paula Deen)

  • 1 head garlic, unpeeled
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup (2-sticks) butter, softened
  • 3 tablespoons, minced parsley leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 loaf bread, split horizontally

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°.
  2. Cut top off garlic head. Place garlic on a piece of aluminum foil. Drizzle with olive oil and season with pepper. Fold edges together to seal. Bake for 30 minutes. Let cool.
  3. Squeeze cooked garlic into a medium bowl. Garlic will be soft and sticky. Add butter, parsley, salt and pepper, stirring to combine.
  4. Spread cut halves of bread evenly with garlic butter mixture. Broil 5 1/2 inches from heat, with oven door partially opened, for 2 to 3 minutes, or until butter melts and bread is toasted.
  5. Cut into slices to serve.

13 thoughts on “Paula Deen’s Zesty Roasted Garlic Bread

  1. This looks absolutely delicious. I can’t wait to try it! My garlic bread recipe is pretty simple too — but not as tasty as yours (Dean’s) looks. I love all your pictures. I bet you could make the butter mixture, and then keep any portion you didn’t use in the fridge for a week or two. Then it’d be all ready the next time you wanted to make the bread. :)

Leave a Reply

