gobble gobble, problem solved!!

After reading all of your wonderful comments and listening to your suggestions, I have decided to go for a very non-traditional surf and turf menu for our Thanksgiving mini-feast, yay! I am so excited to get cooking today!

While making this menu, I had a few necessary requirements. It had to be something that’s fresh, light, and not heavy since I know we’ll be consuming all that heavy starchy goodness come turkey day.

Check out what I have planned for our pre-Thanksgiving mini-feast à la surf and turf!

Grilled Flank Steak with Tomatoes, Red Onions, and Balsamic (recipe here):

grilled flank steak with tomatoes, red onion, and balsamic || photo skinnytaste.com

Garlic Shrimp with Basil, Tomatoes, and Pepper Flakes with Orzo (recipe here):

garlic shrimp with basil, tomatoes, and pepper flakes || photo seriouseats.com

And for dessert, my apple crumble!  Speaking of that…I can’t seem to remember my apple crumble recipe!! I’ve made it so many times too…so sad. Don’t you just hate when that happens? Hopefully, that light bulb in my head turns on soon!

So what do you guys think?! What I love about this is that it’s simple, easy, and totally stress-free. And of course, someone (wink wink) will be in charge of  steak cooking duties and chopping that pesky onion! :)

Oooh I better get started on my grocery list! Ahhh, I have never gone grocery shopping the day prior to Thanksgiving before! You think it’ll be chaos? Hehe. Just out of curiosity, when did you start grocery shopping?

For you twosomes dining sans family this Thanksgiving, what’s on your menu? Ps, I think of us as a tiny family of two. So don’t fret, celebrate!!! :)

Happy pre-Thanksgiving and good luck braving those grocery aisles!

xoxo, kat

12 thoughts on “gobble gobble, problem solved!!

  1. This looks great Kat! I was at the grocery store yesterday and it was a total zoo! I did manage to get a turkey (13.58#’s) from Safeway for $5.00! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    1. it was!!! ahhh, I go to the same grocery store all the time, and I swear there were sooo many new faces! it’s like, where in the world did these ppl suddenly appear from?! lol.

      happy thanksgiving :)

  2. That looks good & healthy too! Orzo is so great I always forget about it – mmmmmmmmmmm… I went out early this morning – I hit 4 stores that are all in a row just to get the best prices……Walfart (as I call it) was the busiest–but they always have organic russet potatoes that are good and less expensive than many stores. Mangia mangia!

    1. Happy Thanksgiving Trish, you are such a sweetheart! I was so excited to try orzo, but my grocery store didn’t carry any (or sold old). Sigh…hopefully next time! But I did get to try gnocchi for the first time!

      Hahaha! Walfart! You’re hilarious! Have you checked out this site: http://www.peopleofwalmart.com/. Pretty funny :)

Leave a Reply

