Thanksgiving For Two? Dilemma, dilemma, dilemma…

photo pinterest.com

This week I plan on making a tiny Thanksgiving mini-feast for two before we head home to celebrate the holidays with our respective families.

One of my biggest challenges (when it comes to cooking at least) is that I always end up cooking for a big family of four, it always ends up being too much food for the two of us. Sure, it’s not an entirely bad thing because we get to eat leftovers for the rest of the week. But since we’re leaving, I think it’s best to keep it minimal and try to avoid having any leftovers (if possible).

Soooo what’s a girl to do?? I myself, am not too fond of turkey or the holiday ham. In fact, for the past few Thanksgivings my dad will roast a chicken for me.

I was actually thinking of making a tiny roast chicken for the two of us, but then realized I would have to touch giblets (gasp!) and learn how carve beautifully like Martha Stewart. I’ve never carved anything before, and I can totally imagine it being such a sloppy mess! If it isn’t pretty, I won’t serve it. I’m a perfectionist. I’m a mini-Martha in training. I envy how prim and neat she is. I adore that woman! :)

Since I made a pretty awesome baked chicken dish last week, it seems a bit redundant to serve another chicken dish… At least in my opinion.

Sigh…I’m actually thinking of doing something completely nontraditional, and do surf and turf since there were a bunch of yummy seafood recipes that caught my eye. Yay or nay??

Any other suggestions for me? How would you guys do Thanksgiving if it’s just for the two of you? What’s on your menu plan for the week?

8 thoughts on “Thanksgiving For Two? Dilemma, dilemma, dilemma…

  1. I love the idea of a Thanksgiving for two! My fiance and I will (luckily) get to spend Thanksgiving day together this year at each of our family’s. We will for Christmas, too, but since Christmas is my favorite holiday, I want to make a mini-Christmas feast (probably the 26th.)

    I think the surf and turf sounds like an incredible idea. Serving something VERY different will keep the same-old menu from getting boring when you each travel home.

    1. So true! I just want to have a menu that’s very light and fresh since there will be lots of heavy foods come Thanksgiving day.

      Happy holidays to you! :)

  2. It’s always fun to do something different! I have definitely done that before when it is just the two of us…something like Greek or Chinese……just go for it girl! You can always do the little game hens. I did those once with a brandied butter baste and stuffed them. They are tiny though! Surf and turf is a great idea! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours :)

    1. Ahhh, every time you mention something incredibly mouth-watering I wish there was a picture attached to it! That’s such a great idea! Will be saving that for Valentines lol. Surf and turf all the way, yay! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family :)

  3. If you are going non-traditional, Kat, try one of my many recipes. Prawns, pork…or check out the link on my blog to Conor’s recipes. He has a beef dish with black bean’s that is to die for!

  4. I say go for non-traditional! You’ll get the ‘regular’ fare with your family. It’s fun to break out of the box. Can’t wait to see what you whip up!

Leave a Reply

