Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes

spanish chicken with chorizo and potatoes

Oooo nom nom nom! Finally got to have Spanish chicken with chorizo and potatoes for date night!

This is one of those recipes that is very easy to make, but can also leaves a very lasting impression. It’s definitely a recipe that any guy will love because it’s “man food”…meat and potatoes! I just love how all the flavors go so well together, and it’s such a hearty meal.

Of course, I made more than enough for two! Actually, what I made can feed a family of four…but who doesn’t love leftovers, right? :)

Here’s how I made one of the best chicken dinners I’ve ever had…

INGREDIENTS: chicken thighs, chorizo, potatoes, red onion, orange, olive oil, dried oregano, pepper and Lawry's

Before you start anything, preheat the oven to 425°. I forgot halfway in, but it all worked out since I am a very slow preparer :)

chicken thighs

STEP 1: Wash and pat dry.

KITCHEN TIP: To ensure that you get that yummy crispy skin, make sure you pat it dry really well.

STEP 2: Drizzle both sides with olive oil and season both sides with pepper, oregano, and Lawry's.

With some olive oil, coat the bottom of a baking dish (I used my trusty Williams-Sonoma rectangular cake pan…this thing is amazing! I’ve been using it for everything that needs baking and it’s held up quite nicely :).

make sure it's coated well

place the chicken in the baking dish

Now that the chicken is done, work on chopping up the potatoes and the dreaded onion…

STEP 3: Scrub and clean your potatoes. Chop the potatoes into bite-sized chunks. If using baby potatoes, just half them.

 KITCHEN TIP: Much like the chicken, I also prefer to pat the potatoes dry before I chop them up.

STEP 4: Put the potatoes in a small bowl, drizzle with olive oil and season with pepper, salt, and oregano. Toss well, then pour into the baking dish with the chicken.

Now onto the onion…I chopped it up all by myself, which resulted in tears :(

red onion

STEP 5: Peel and chop the onion into bite-sized pieces.

Now that the onions chopped up, don’t forget about the chorizo!

beef chorizo

STEP 6: Squeeze out some chorizo.

This was my first time using chorizo. Looking at the recipe, I assumed these things were sausages not mush.. hehe.

KITCHEN TIP: Squeeze out a lot of chorizo! That was my mistake, I really wish I had more chorizo in there because it was delicious!!

put it all in the baking dish

Now that everything’s in the pan, grate some orange zest.

STEP 7: Grate the zest of one orange.

all ready to bake!

Bake in the oven for about 1 hour.

KITCHEN TIP: Do not squeeze the orange juice prior to baking. You want the chicken to roast not braise in the oven.

fresh out of the oven!

More pics of deliciousness…

look at how brown and golden the chicken is! and the chorizo+potatoes...omg yum! :)

With the orange that you zested, cut in half and squeeze a little bit of the orange juice onto the baked chicken. I chose to garnish the dishes with a few orange slices to showcase flavors of the orange zest in the dish. I just think it looks really pretty AND I’m trying to work on my plating techniques! I think when I put in a little bit of an effort into plating, it fools my boyfriend into thinking that I spent that much time and all that work in the kitchen :)

onomnomnomnom date night was a hit :)

Please note that I didn’t measure the ingredients. I used a lot more olive oil than the original recipe called for, and definitely seasoned it according to our preferences. Feel free to add/reduce the amount of potatoes you want (same goes for the onion!). With this particular recipe, I feel like it’s unnecessary to measure any of the ingredients. Plus, it can easily be changed to suit however many people you plan to serve. Check out the recipe below and please let me know what you think! :)

Until the next date night (it’ll be a Thanksgiving special)…

xoxo, kat

Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes (from Nigella Lawson

  • 2 tablespoons regular olive oil
  • 12 chicken thighs, bone in and with skin
  • 1 3/4 pounds chorizo sausages, whole if baby ones, or cut into 1 1/2 chunks if regular-sized
  • 1 1/4 pounds baby white-skinned potatoes, halved
  • 2 red onions, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 1 orange

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°.
  2. Put the oil in the bottom of 2 shallow roasting pans or quarter sheet pans, 1 tablespoon in each. Rub the skin of the chicken in the oil, then turn skin side up and put 6 pieces in each pan.
  3. Divide the chorizo sausages and the baby potatoes between the 2 pans. Sprinkle with the onion and the oregano, then grate the orange zest over the contents of the 2 pans.
  4. Bake for 1 hour, but after 30 minutes, swap the top pan with the bottom pan in the oven and baste the contents with the orange-colored juices. Transfer the chicken mixture to a large serving platter and serve.

16 thoughts on “Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes

  1. Oh my goodness woman this is your finest yet! That is a recipe I have never heard of or thought of!!! Fantastic! Will definitely want to try it! Really good pretty photos. I like how you were not scared to use the oregano – u went for it. Your just getting more and more professional! xoxoxoox

    1. Awww Trish!! I can’t thank you enough, thanks for all of your wonderful comments and support :)

      I LOVE oregano! I use it in practically everything I make. I need one of those gigantic sized bottles of oregano from Costco lol

      xoxo

  2. This was to die for! The smell in the house – fantabulous! Email me so I know how to repost your blog on my site! One thing I did add was garlic! Love garlic! Added 5 huge cloves! Yummmmmmmyyyy! :)

    1. OMG!! Why did I not think of adding garlic! 5 huge cloves is perfect! Actually, more the better hehe I LOVE GARLIC!! I’m soooo sooo happy you like it! :) Sending you an email now! xoxo

Leave a Reply

