Paula Deen’s Lots O’Meat Lasagna

paula deen's lots o'meat lasagna & garlic bread

Last week’s date night was a hit!!!

This was my first try at making lasagna, and it wasn’t as scary or difficult as I thought it would be. As soon as you get over the fear of the long list of ingredients, everything thereafter is a breeze. The only difficult part is the having the self-restraint to not eat the meat sauce while it’s simmering.

And can I just say that no-boil lasagna noodles are amazing!! Not only is it one less pot to clean, but it’s also one less thing to fuss about…you don’t have to worry about noodle breakage! That was my main concern when it came to making lasagna.

This is the dish that you have to try making if you want to impress that certain special someone in your life. I’m calling this the “relationship sealer” lasagna. It fits every man’s dinner criteria  (well, at least my man’s :)…it’s meaty (very meaty), cheesy (extra cheesy), it’s comfort food and reminds them of home. Just trust me on this one, your guy will end up falling in love with you all over again :)

This lasagna is just perfection at it’s best.

Get ready for a picture bloated post!

a very long list of ingredients...

For the meaty part the lasagna, you’ll need ground chuck and ground Italian sausage…

mild italian pork sausages

couldn't find ground italian sausage anywhere, instead I found these little guys!

i removed the casings (not a pretty sight...)

You’ll also need one onion and and a few garlic gloves. I love garlic so I used a bit more than Paula recommended :)

dice the onion and mince the garlic (I cannot chop onions, that's by boyfriend's job...thank you! :)

Once you have all your ingredients ready (ie. casings removed, onion chopped, garlic minced), start cooking the meat.

STEP 1: In a large saucepan, combine ground chuck, sausages, onion, and garlic.

cook over medium heat

once the meat is browned and crumbled, drain and return meat to the pan

To make the sauce, you’ll need a cans upon cans of diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, and tomato paste…it takes a lot of cans of tomatoes to make delicious lasagna sauce!

lasagna sauce ingredients

STEP 2: Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, and paste, and season with oregano, basil, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 30-45 minutes.

while it simmered I added in a few extra spices...a small dash of cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes :)

In the meantime, preheat the oven to 350° and make the cheese filling for the lasagna…

STEP 3: In a small bowl, combine cottage cheese, parmesan, parsley, and two eggs (lightly beaten).

Once the meat is done simmering, prepare your lasagna assembling station…

i opted to use my shiny Williams-Sonoma pan instead of my glass baking dish for the lasagna...I hear it produces crisper edges? :)

STEP 4: Spoon some sauce onto the bottom of the baking pan.

STEP 5: Place uncooked lasagna noodles on top of the sauce, making sure not to overlap the noodles.

STEP 6: Spread the cottage cheese mixture over the noodles.

STEP 7: Add a little more sauce and sprinkle mozzarella cheese.

STEP 8: Repeat layers, ending with sauce, and topping with more mozzarella cheese.

When finished, bake for 45 minutes in the oven… While we waited for the lasagna to bake, we decided to make garlic bread on a whim. Stay tune for that recipe!

STEP 9: After 45 minutes of baking, top with remaining cheese and bake for another 15 minutes or until it's hot and bubbly.

let rest for 10 minutes before serving

Obviously, as you can see I could not wait for the full 10 minutes to pass…it’s a hot bubbling mess :)

so cheesy and extra meaty...it was perfect! thank you Paula! :)

I think I impressed my date, what do you think? :)

voila!

The day-after-lasagna was just as good! If not, better!!

the-day-after lasagna...look at all the layers!

I must now take a moment to thank my butter queen. Without Paula Deen, this lasagna wouldn’t have been possible. She is truly a freaking genius! I love you Paula!

I would also like to add that this is my most complimented dish so far! My boyfriend absolutely loved it and did not stop raving about it! I received compliments from him the day of and the day after…two days straight of compliments…how can a girl not feel loved and appreciated! Now that I know he loves it, I will not be making it anymore (only saving it for special occasions) What?! Don’t all girls do this? Make them work for it hahah :)

So have I convinced you to make lots o’meat lasagna? Please let me know what you think!

Hope you all enjoyed! And stay tune for my next post on the garlic bread!

Until the next date night…

xoxo, kat

KITCHEN TIP:

  • DON’T bother measuring the seasonings (salt, pepper, oregano, and basil), add more or less according to your taste preferences. I added a lot of garlic, almost twice as much oregano, and lots of fresh basil.
  • DO add other seasonings that you think might go well in a lasagna. I added in a small smidge of cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes.
  • DO cut the dried pasta noodles if they don’t fit exactly in your pan. We had to use a box-cutter to cut the lasagna noodles that were laying down vertically. I guess that’s one of the downsides of using no-boil noodles.

Paula Deen’s Lots O’Meat Lasagna (video here)

  • 1 1/2 pounds ground chuck
  • 1 pound ground Italian sausage
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (use more if you love garlic)
  • 1 teaspoon ground basil (use twice as much for fresh herbs)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 14.5 ounces canned diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano
  • 30 ounces canned tomato sauce
  • 6 ounces canned tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 cups small curd cottage cheese
  • 5 ounce package grated Parmigianno-Reggiano
  • 2 tablespoons freshly chopped parsley leaves
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beatn
  • oven ready (no-boil) lasagna noodles
  • 16 ounce package shredded mozzarella

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. In a large saucepan, combine ground chuck, sausage, onion, and garlic. Cook over medium heat until meat is browned and crumbled; drain.
  3. Return meat to pan and add oregano, basil, salt, and pepper. Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, and paste. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30-45 minutes.
  4. In a small bowl, combine cottage cheese, parmesan, parsley, and eggs.
  5. Spoon 1/4 of sauce into bottom of a 13 by 9 by 2-inch baking pan. Place uncooked lasagna noodles on top of sauce. Do not overlap noodles. Spread 1/3 of cottage cheese mixture over noodles, top with 1/4 of sauce and 1/3 mozzarella cheese. Repeat layers, ending with sauce, reserving 1/3 of mozzarella cheese.
  6. Bake for 45 minutes. Top with remaining cheese and bake for 15 minutes or until hot and bubbly. Let rest for 10 minutes before serving.

8 thoughts on “Paula Deen’s Lots O’Meat Lasagna

  1. Looks good. I add hot Italian sausage, which I fry up ahead of time to get rid of the grease. I add oregano and basil. Instead of grated cheese, I get a 2 # brick of jack cheese (less salty than mozz.) and slice it thin. What is cool with hot Italian sausage, is you get surprise “packages” in every bite! Looks good Kat and great photos!

  2. BEAUTIFUL JOB KAT!!! Your pictures are wonderful. It’s so great to have the satisfaction of making a delicious homemade lasagna. Comfort, comfort & more comfort food!

    1. Aww Trish! I can never say it enough, you are a sweetheart! Thank you! Homemade lasagna has got to be the tastiest thing ever! Hope you’re well :)

  3. Oh wow that looks really good, We will be having lasagna for Sunday dinner this weekend. Thanks for your detailed instructions along with ingredients and pictures. I saw this recipe on another page they didn’t have all of that. I got to the bottom of the page and saw your picture and comment about making it, I am so glad I clicked on your picture!!!!

Leave a Reply

