Kat’s Crispy Fish

kat's crispy fish

As promised, here’s my recipe for Crispy Fish from last Friday’s favorites! For crispy fish, you only need seven ingredients, and most likely you have them right in your kitchen already. This is a no-recipe recipe! It’s more of an “add more as needed” type of recipe. Since this is a basic fried fish recipe, it’s also goof-proof!

After my first horrific incident with making chicken katsu, I shied away from any recipes that require frying of any kind! The thought of hot oil popping and splattering all over face makes me worry, so my boyfriend usually takes over frying duties because he’s manly like that. Anyways, I don’t know what came over me last week but I took over frying duties! In fact, I told him to “shoo” hehe. He came back surprised and proud :)

My first solo frying experience went great! In fact, the whole meal turned out great! The fish was so crispy and crunchy on the outside, and soft and flakey on the inside.

Oh ladies, this is the dish to make for your man!!! My crispy fish is now one of my boyfriend’s top fave meals that I make him! He loved it so much that he had seconds way before I even finished my first! It makes me very happy seeing him get seconds :)

Hope you guys enjoy this quick and easy idea for DIY date night! What are your date night ideas for this week? Ugh…that reminds me, I don’t have a clue as to what I’m going to make for this week! Any suggestions for me?

INGREDIENTS: tilapia, eggs, flour, panko, Lawry's, pepper, and oil for frying

farm raised tilapia from Trader Joe's

STEP 1: Take the fish out of the package and rinse with cold water

STEP 2: lay on a sheet of paper towels and pat dry

STEP 3: cut into bite sized pieces

STEP 4: lightly season both sides with Lawry's and fresh ground pepper

STEP 5: lightly beat eggs in a bowl, pour some flour on a plate, and on another plate pour some panko and sprinkle in some Lawry's and pepper

STEP 6: first roll fish in flour, next dip in egg mixture, then coat in panko mixture

STEP 7: using a large skillet, heat oil (i used olive oil, but any oil will do); to get that nice golden look, make sure the oil is hot

STEP 8: fry fish

STEP 9: fry each side for 3-4 minutes

STEP 10: when done frying, place on a plate lined with paper towels

STEP 11: repeat

STEP 12: serve. i chose to serve with my favorite ginger scallion noodles :)

Kat’s Crispy Fish

  • tilapia
  • panko
  • flour
  • eggs
  • Lawry’s
  • pepper
  • oil
Directions:
  1. Rinse fish and pat dry.
  2. Season both sides with Lawry’s and fresh ground pepper.
  3. Lightly beat eggs in a bowl for the egg mixture. Pour flour on one plate. On another plate, mix panko with Lawry’s and pepper for the coating mixture.
  4. Dredge fish in flour, then dip in egg mixture, and finally coated the fish in the panko mixture.
  5. Heat oil in a large skillet.
  6. Fry each side for 3-4 minutes. If you fish is on the thick side, add a few extra minutes for each side.
  7. When done frying, place fish on a plate lined with paper towels.
  8. Serve.
© 2011 – shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Kat’s Crispy Fish

  1. Looks yummy, loves me some lawrys! I love TJ’s white roughy (it’s super white, and sweet) and has no fish smell, which is great for frying up in the house.

Leave a Reply

