thank you Food Network, without you I would starve. xoxo

old fashion meat-loaf and roasted garlic mashed potatoes

As promised from last Friday, here’s last week’s I’m-obsessed-with-Food-Network dinner! Meatloaf courtesy of butter queen Paula Deen, and the garlic mashed potatoes are from Food Network’s cutest couple The Neely’s. This was my second time cooking this meal, and it didn’t disappoint this time around either! When you love it the first time, why not make it and eat it over and over again?  There are two things in my cooking repertoire that I know how to cook well and have no problems eating all the time. Those two things that I get raves about are my brookies and my baked ziti. Hahah, cookies and pasta…carbs, carbs, carbs, oh how you kill me! :)

Okay, okay, back to the meatloaf! Paula Deen’s meatloaf is extremely simple and fantastic. This is the type of recipe that you can build and add more ingredients too, it’s just the best basic meatloaf recipe there is! The first time I made it, I used bell peppers but this time around I opted for baby sweet peppers which gives the meatloaf some oomph, color, and sparkle. Hahah, just kidding! My favorite part of the meatloaf is the topping, it’s delicious!! I keep telling myself “the next time I make this I want extra topping sauce”, but I always forget! But for sure, more sauce next time! I can’t get enough of the sauce and I love covering my meatloaf in it. Do you guys love the meatloaf sauce as much as I do?

Okay, enough of my babbles! Check out below on how to make your very own Paula Deen approved meatloaf and stay tune for part two featuring garlic roasted mashed potatoes!

Here’s what you’ll need to make Paula Deen’s Old-Fashion Meatloaf…

ground beef, can of diced tomatoes, bell peppers, quick-rolling oats, half an onion, egg, mustard, ketchup, brown sugar, salt/pepper

Before mixing all your meatloaf ingredients together, start chopping…

half an onion, he chops onions for me :)

I opted for baby sweet peppers

such beautiful colors!

chop chop chop

Once everything’s been chopped up, put all the meatloaf ingredients in a medium bowl…

meatloaf in the making!

Don’t forget to add…

the egg :)

And start mixing!

this is the fun part, so use your hands!

Whip out that baking dish, and once everything is mixed well shape into a loaf (or plop into a loaf pan)…

oh my, hi good lookin'!

Now set that aside, and start making the topping for the meatloaf…

add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar to 1/3 cup of ketchup

add 1 tablespoon of mustard and mix we

Once that’s done, coat the meatloaf with the topping mixture…

cover all over because a naked loaf is not a tasty loaf :)

sexy.

Lastly, put in a scorching 375° oven and bake for 1 hour…

feel free to watch it turn into yummy deliciousness while it's cooking in the oven like I did :)

After what feels like an eternity (1 hour), it’s done!

ooh...

aah...

and marvel!

Yum, right?! Since I don’t own a loaf pan, the poor meatloaf sort of fatten out a bit during the cooking process. How do you guys get the perfect loaf? And if you do use a loaf pan, is it hard to get the meatloaf out? What are your tips? Till then, this is my only solution for the perfect loaf! I’m a sucker for any “as seen on tv” product out there! :)

Old-Fashion Meatloaf (courtesy of Paula Deen)

Meatloaf:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped bell peppers
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 8 ounces canned diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats

Topping:

  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon prepared mustard

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Mix all meatloaf ingredients well and place in a baking dish. Shape into a loaf.
  3. Mix ingredients for topping and spread on loaf. Bake in oven for 1 hour.

© 2011 – shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com

One thought on “thank you Food Network, without you I would starve. xoxo

Leave a Reply

