party in your mouth salsa

She calls it “Fired Tomato and Chile Salsa”, he calls it “OG Salsa”. Place of birth: Los Angeles, CA. Date of birth: c. 2000s.

What exactly is OG Salsa you ask? If you’re from LA I don’t think I need to define, but if you’re from elsewhere Urban Dictionary does a pretty decent job defining OG.

Remember in my last post when I declared that He (from she cooks, he eats) makes the best tacos on earth and if I had to pick a last meal, that would be it. One of the reasons why I love those tacos is because of the equally delicious salsa that he makes with them!  Being an avid supporter of she cooks, he eats, he was sweet enough to share his now not-so-secret infamous salsa recipe.

So let’s get started! First roast the peppers, tomatoes, and garlic…

roast the peppers

roast the tomatoes

roast garlic cloves on a pan

Roasting the peppers, tomatoes, and garlic will take a while…

don't be a nit-picker like me...it's the bad way to roast a tomato, patience is key!

correct way to roast a tomato, he has patience :)

the garlic. taking it's sweet time to roast...

however...the peppers are done! you want them to get nice and dark on all sides

Once all the peppers, tomatoes, and garlic cloves are roasted, put in a plastic bag…

putting it in a plastic bag helps them "sweat" so that way the skin can be easily removed once it's cool to the touch

Wait a few minutes and remove the skin of peppers, tomatoes, and squeeze the garlic out of the cloves. Next you will have to…

mash the tomatoes in a bowl

de-seed the peppers and dice them up

Since you’re dicing up the peppers, you mind as well dice up an onion!

he dices because she sheds tears very very easily

ooo la la nicely diced and no tears for me :)

Put the peppers, onions, and garlic in the bowl of tomatoes and…

mash it all together!

Lastly season with salt/pepper to taste and squeeze in some lemon juice….

chill in the fridge for at least 10 minutes prior to serving, but not too long because it can get soggy

fun behind the scenes fact: he eats a lemon (rind included) while she cringes and makes funny faces at him :)

Hope you all enjoy it as much as I do! What are some of your favorite homemade salsa recipes?

OG Salsa (also known as Fired Tomato and Chile Salsa)

  • 4 tomatoes
  • 2 chiles (any kind)
  • 1 Anaheim pepper or 1 Poblano pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • a quarter of an onion
  • salt/pepper
  • half a lemon or 2 key limes
Directions:
  1. Roast the peppers and tomatoes on the stove top burner and the garlic on a pan. Roast until completely blacken on all sides, slightly blacken for the garlic.
  2. Put the peppers, tomatoes, and garlic in a plastic bag to steam so that the skins can be easily removed. When cooled, remove the skins.
  3. Mash the tomatoes in a bowl.
  4. De-seed and dice the peppers, and squeeze the garlic out of the cloves.
  5. Put the peppers, garlic, and onions in with the tomatoes and mash all together.
  6. Season with salt/pepper to taste.
  7. Add the juice of half a lemon and stir well.
  8. Chill in the fridge for at least 10 minutes prior to serving.

© 2011 – shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com

24 thoughts on “party in your mouth salsa

  1. Looks great! I can’t wait to try it! I will call probably it Sex in Your Mouth Salsa! But I guess I should try it before making that assumption :)

    1. The Anaheim pepper is a sweeter pepper whereas the Poblano pepper has a distinct rustic flavor. Spicyness varies randomly…some peppers are just hotter than others. However, I personally am sensitive to spicy foods, yet neither pepper overwhelms me (ie. burn my mouth). Hope this helps! :)

  2. ha ha good to know i’m not the only odd ball who enjoys eating lemons. Chips and salsa has to be my favorite snack/party food. ever. I will have to try this recipe!

  3. Oooh, jealous of your gas stove!! Do you have any hints for roasting the peppers and tomatoes for those of us stuck with electric?
    Maybe a blowtorch would work, hmm? lol :)

    1. Oh thanks! If you have a grill available you can roast the peppers and tomatoes on there. If there isn’t a grill available, try roasting on a skillet or grill pan (like I did for the garlic) and that should slowly blacken the tomatoes and peppers. Be sure to keep turning them so that it blacken all over. Another method I found online is to use a broiler and keep turning them till they blacken. Hope this helps! And me know how it turns out :)

  4. I’m so jealous of the gas stove…and that salsa! I love a good salsa and it can be hard to find in parts of Washington. I’m going to have to make a batch (or ten) of this.

  5. yum! i always just get the salsa from the supermarket,and they aren’t always spicy. thanks for sharing this one! (nice page too you have,maybe update your profile? at least your readers would know a little about you ;) )

  6. I told my 6 year old that I was not comfortable with you writing “sex in your mouth” on here and he said “Oh, that just means that a pretty girl is eating salsa”. Lol.

  7. Yum! I love making fresh salsa it puts the jared stuff to shame. Have you ever attempted homemade chips too? I am considering recipes and I am wondering if the baked variety are really as good as some comments to recipes claim…Any thoughts or suggestions?
    Xoxo, Angie of http://www.abestable.com aka Lincoln Logs indentured servant lol

  8. Hey Kat!
    I am new to blogging as well. From what I read so far your blog is awesome. And this salsa looks so good !!
    In the meantime I’m going to keep exploring and reading all your old posts and check out all these cool recipes you put up!

Leave a Reply

